Monday, 4 May 2020

Jnana Yoga

Jnana yoga Path of 

The path of wisdom applies discriminative intelligence for spiritual liberation reflecting and developing awareness of one’s own sense of Being. The chief practice of Jnana Yoga is meditation & Self Inquiry Atma Vicharya inquiry into the source of the “I” thought “So Hum”
Who am I?/I am that.


"What I know, I know.

What I do not know,

I do not know".

This is jnana.

a) What are Jnana Yoga's basic concepts?

Jnana is considered the most difficult of the four main paths of Yoga, requiring great strength of will and intellect. This is achieved by steadfastly practicing the mental techniques of self-questioning, reflection, and conscious illumination that are defined in the Four Pillars of Knowledge.

b) What was the primary idea of Jnan Marg?

Jnana yoga, otherwise called Jnanamarga, is one of the few profound ways in Hinduism that underlines the "way of knowledge", also known as the "way of self-realization". It is one of the three old-style ways (margas) for moksha.

c) Jnana Bhumikas The Seven Stages of Wisdom

1) Subheccha (good desire):- This beginning stage requires one to study the Sanskrit texts and be passionate about discovering the truth. One should strive towards non-attraction or indifference towards all sensual objects.

2) Vicharana (Philosophical inquiry):- The second stage involves questioning, contemplation, and reflection on the principles of non-dualism.

3) Tanumanasi (Subtlety of mind):- This third stage assumes you have understood all the necessary knowledge. Tanu means thread, and in this step, The mind “becomes thin like a    thread“ as you let go of all external stimuli to focus all of your attention inwards.

4) Sattvapatti (Attainment of Light):- In the fourth stage, the world appears like a dream And your karma begins to dissolve. A yogi will view all things in the universe equally in this stage.

5) Asamsakti (Inner Detachment):- In this stage, you become detached and selfless and will experience deep states of bliss. One will feel no difference between waking and dream states.

6) Partha Bhavana (Spiritual Vision):- In the sixth stage, you begin to see the truth and understand the nature of Brahman (Ultimate Reality).

7) Turiya (Supreme Freedom):- During the final stage, you are united in superconsciousness and attain Moksha.

d) How many methods of practicing Jnana Yoga?

The Four Pillars Of Knowledge, otherwise called ‘Sadhana Chatushtaya’ are stepping stones towards achieving the goal of Jnana Yoga, which is liberation from your thoughts.
It is best to practice the four methods mentioned below in sequential order as one will lead you to the other.

1) Viveka

Viveka is a process of consciously, deliberately, and continue using your intellect to differentiate between the real and unreal, the permanent and the temporary, and the self and that which is not.

2) Vairagya

Next, comes Vairagya, where you detach yourself from worldly possessions activities. 
You should be indifferent to that which is temporary.
You should place your ego aside and see things for what they are. Knowledge only dawns when you are free from all attachments.

3) Shad-Sampati

Shad-Sampati consists of 6 methods that help stabilize your mind and emotions and train it to see beyond the illusion of the world.
First is Shama or keeping calm. It is a practice of being peaceful and reacting lesser and lesser to external stimuli.
Dama is keeping away from the influence of your senses and strengthening your mind.
The update is abandoning all that is not your duty. It is about keeping it simple with no unnecessary distractions.
Titiksha is to endure unfavorable situations and be tolerant of suffering and pain.
Shraddha is to believe and have faith in a teacher, the scriptures, and the yogic path.
Samadhana is focussing single-mindedly.

4) Mumukshutva

Mumukshutva is an intense passion for liberation from the chains of suffering. It is to commit yourself completely to the path of self-realization to the point that nothing else matters.

No comments:

Post a comment