Sunday, 3 May 2020

Bhakti Yoga

Bhakti Yoga-Path of Self Surrender

The path of devotion is one in which we offer and surrender to the divine through a devotion in which one sees the divinity in every creature and all things. Mantra meditation is one form of Bhakti.


If you use your

emotions and try to reach

the ultimate, we call this


That means the path of


a) Where did the idea of bhakti come from?

The Bhakti movement originated in South India during the seventh to eighth century CE, spread northwards from Tamil Nadu through Karnataka, and gained wide acceptance in fifteenth-century Bengal and northern India.

b) Who brought Bhakti from south to north?

A great proponent of loving devotion for God, bhakti yoga, Chaitanya worshiped the Lord in the form of Krishna. "Sri Ramanuja Acharya" was an Indian philosopher and is recognized as the most important saint of "Sri Vaishnavism. Ramananda" brought to North India what Ramanuja did in South India.

c) What is the purpose of bhakti-yoga?

Practitioners of Bhakti yoga, known as bhaktas, or loving devotees, express their religious devotion through prayer, ritual, and chanting. Their purpose is to develop feelings of unconditional love and devotion.

d) How many principles of bhakti-yoga?

There are nine principles of bhakti-yoga. It's described in below.

1) Sravana:- This is the Sanskrit term for listening to poems or stories about God’s virtues and mighty deeds. Sravana bhakti cannot be practiced in isolation. The devotee must hear the stories from a wise teacher and seek the companionship of holy people.

2) Kirtana:- This refers to the singing or chanting of God’s praises.Ram Dass has said of this form of bhakti, “When you are in love with God, the very sound of the Name brings great joy.”

3) Smarana:- This is a remembrance of God at all times, or keeping God in the forefront of one’s consciousness. 

4) Padasevana:- This form of bhakti-yoga expresses love toward God through service to others, especially the sick.

5) Archana:- This refers to the worship of God through such external images as icons or religious pictures or through internal visualizations. The purpose of Archana is to purify the heart through the love of God.

6) Vandana:- This refers to prayer and prostration. This form of bhakti-yoga is intended to curb self-absorption and self-centeredness.

7) Dasya:- In Dasya bhakti, the devotee regards him or herself as God’s slave or servant, carrying out God’s commandments, meditating on the words of God, caring for the sick and the poor, and helping to clean or repair sacred buildings or places.

8) Sakha-bhava:- This form of bhakti-yoga is the cultivation of friendship-love toward God to love God as a member of one’s family or dearest friend, and delight in companionship with God.

9) Atma-nirvana:- This is the complete self-offering or self-surrender to God.

e)Benefits of Bhakti Yoga
  • Bhakti Yoga softens your personality and keeps you away from negative emotions like anger, ego, and arrogance.
  • It gives you peace and knowledge.
  • You feel joyous and blissful through Bhakti Yoga.
  • It takes away worry, anxiety, and fear and keeps you calm.
  • Bhakti Yoga reduces your sorrows and pains.
  • It will give you an experience of the divine.
  • Bhakti Yoga helps you control your senses and handle tough situations with ease.

No comments:

Post a comment